Jun 7 2012

Sex Offender Laws in Nevada

Sex offender laws in Nevada apply to anyone who is convicted of a sexual offense as defined by the Nevada Revised Statutes.  Some sex offenses that require registration include:

  • Sexual exploitation
  • Sexual abuse
  • Use of chemicals or drugs to enable or assist the above
  • Incest
  • Rape
  • Battery to assist with the above
  • Sexual assault
  • Indecent or obscene exposure
  • Lewdness with a child
  • Child pornography
  • Sexual penetration of a dead body
  • Statutory sexual seduction

For a full list, see the Nevada Department of Public Safety website.

Depending on the type of conviction and crime, there are 4 tiers that a sex offender can fall within.  All tiers require registration.

Registry Requirements in Nevada for Sex Offenders

Registration of Sex Offenders is required under the national Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act (the Wetterling Act) for anyone convicted of a sex offense.

There are three requirements for compliance to the registry: Initial Registration, Change of Address, and Annual Verification. If a sex offender does not comply with any of these requirements, it is a felony offense.

Initial Registration

Only 48 hours in a county or city is needed to establish resident sex offender status.  Registration must be completed with local police or law enforcement for that jurisdiction before the 48 hours expires.

Change of Address

A sex offender must provide new address information in person to the local law enforcement for the new and previous jurisdictions of residence within 48 hours of the change.

Annual Verification

On the yearly anniversary of initial registration, forms will be mailed to the sex offenders last known address to be filled out and returned within 10 days of receipt. All requested information must be returned with the completed form, including new fingerprints, an updated photo, and information confirming or updating what is currently on file for the registered sex offender.

Public Access to Sex Offender Information

Megan’s Law, a 1996 Amendment to the national Wetterling Act (above), requires that any information on registered sex offenders that is deemed by local law enforcement to pertain to the safety of the public, including (but not limited to), photos, complete physical addresses, and list of convicted crimes must be made available to the public. Nevada fulfills this requirement with a free public website.

Posted in: Criminal Law Posted by: John B. Routsis

Leave a Comment

Comments are moderated. All fields are required, we will not publish your email address.